Who can drink Three Spirit?

Who can drink Three Spirit?

Three Spirit drinks were designed to be inclusive; all our drinks are entirely plant-based, gluten-free and free of all major allergens, and our vines are sulphite free, low-sugar and low calorie. All our drinks contain some pretty powerful active plants, so it’s always good to be aware of our ingredients. Find out if our drinks are right for you as we answer some of our most frequently asked questions...

ingredients wellbeing

The short answer? Most adults!

Three Spirit drinks were designed to be inclusive. All our drinks are entirely plant-based, gluten-free and free of all major allergens, and our wine alternatives, Blurred Vines, are sulphite free, low-sugar and low calorie. Our range consists of five distinct drinks, each with its own active ingredients selected for flavour and function, so it’s always good to be aware of your own allergies or intolerances before drinking our non-alcoholic spirit and wine alternatives.

If you are new to our drinks, we always suggest having one serving of Three Spirit first and seeing how you feel. As with traditional spirits and wine, with Three Spirit people can react differently to others; some having several servings to feel the effects of the active plants, some feeling it straight away! 

*For reference, one serving of our elixirs is 50ml, and one serving of our vines are 125ml to 175ml - depending on how large you like your glass!


Occasionally we have new fans enquiring about whether our drinks are suitable with certain medications. Sadly, as we are not doctors so we cannot give medical advice. Three Spirit does contain some rather powerful plants, so if you are taking any strong medication and are not sure if you can have our drinks we always recommend checking in with your doctor first. You can provide them with all of our ingredients which are listed on each product’s page on our site if you’d like to go in depth. But it's important to mention that Livener and Spark have high levels of natural caffeine, whereas Nightcap contains valerian and other natural relaxants.

Pregnancy / breastfeeding

Our drinks are packed full of active plants, adaptogens and herbs, many of which sadly lack scientific research around how they interact during pregnancy and breastfeeding. Livener and Spark contain significant amounts of natural caffeine from the guayusa, which many steer clear of in this stage. To be on the safe side, we do not recommend Three Spirit in the case of pregnancy / breastfeeding.

Under 18s

Three Spirit may be non-alcoholic, but these are no regular soft drinks or cordial! The amount of each active ingredient included in each of our drinks has been designed for adult consumption, not to mention the natural caffeine in our Spark and Livener. Sorry kids - Three Spirit is not for you.

Designated drivers

We always recommend waiting an hour before driving, as everyone reacts differently to each Three Spirit drink - especially with the dreamy Nightcap which many of our customers report feeling sleepy after drinking! If you’re new to Three Spirit you’ll want to know what your limit is.

Those who take drug tests for work or services

Good news! It’s a green light on enjoying Three Spirit.

We don't use any cannabis, coca, ephedra, or opium derivatives or analogues in Three Spirit (legal or otherwise, so no CBD, hemp oil, or poppy seeds either). We don't use any legal synthetic intoxicants or use anything that is scheduled under the misuse of drugs act or analogous to drugs scheduled under the misuse of drugs act. We don't use anabolic steroids, or pharmaceutical metabolic modulators, hormones or their analogues, or any ingredients that are prescription medications. We don't use beta blockers either.

Regarding anything that could be considered supplementation - please note the following: Livener contains natural caffeine and L-theanine from guayusa and green tea respectively, and Social Elixir contains damiana and is fortified with B-vitamins, and L-theanine (from green tea). Nightcap contains valerian.

We don't believe that there are any restrictions against their consumption by the British armed forces. Of course, we would always recommend doing your own due diligence if there are potential plants that are prohibited for another reason!

Shop the story

More like this

Discover more articles